Curriculum KS3, KS4 and KS5

This page outlines the current curriculum for 2021-22. However, the structure of our curriculum will change from September 2022. Current Year 7 & 8 students will continue with the Key Stage 3 model outlined below throughout Year 9, ensuring their curriculum remains as broad as possible for as long as possible.

Please also see main Curriculum page for our curriculum rationale and the individual subject pages give further information. The attached booklet gives an overview of curriculum time for each subject.

Key Stage Three

In Years 7 and 8, students follow a broad, ambitious and equitable curriculum, in line with the National Curriculum, including:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • A Modern Foreign Language (one of French, German or Spanish)
  • Music ­­
  • Physical Education

In addition, students at Tudor Grange Academy Solihull also study:

  • Religious Education
  • RSHE
  • Citizenship and Character
  • Healthy Living (including food, nutrition and health)
  • Drama

Within this wide range of subjects, students learn the ‘fundamentals’ – the essential knowledge that students must master and commit to long term memory. These are the essential pieces of information we believe provide students with cultural capital.

In Year 9, all students* continue to study a broad range of subjects. The curriculum has been designed to enable all students to achieve the English Baccalaureate (EBacc). The subjects which make up this pathway are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • A Modern Foreign Language
  • Science
  • Geography OR History

The Department for Education recommends this combination of subjects as they provide students with an important range of knowledge and skills, and help to keep their options open for future careers.

All students also study Physical Education, RSHE and Ethical Studies (including RE & Citizenship).

In addition, students in year 9 are also able to specialise in 2-3 subjects (depending upon their pathway in Science), which they have a particular interest in. This enables students to develop a deeper understanding of KS3 content in areas that they are passionate about. During year 8, full consultation takes place between students, staff and parents to support curriculum choices. Year 9 is a foundation year which enables students to develop a mastery of the skills required to complete a subject at Key Stage 4. In year 9 there is flexibility (wherever possible) for students to change specialism, thereby ensuring they are satisfied with their GCSE subjects for the start of Key Stage 4.

Key Stage Four

In Years 10 and 11 students begin their GCSE studies. All students continue to study for the Ebacc pathway as above, in addition to Physical Education, RSHE and Ethical Studies.

Information about KS4 GCSE courses can be found for each subject under the subject area of the website.

Key Stage Five

The curriculum at Post 16 is designed to prepare students for both university and the world of work. Each post-16 student has their own specific goal and ambition and we ensure that each student has a personalised curriculum that meets their individual requirements. Students choose from a diverse range of qualifications so that they are able to participate in challenging and enjoyable courses.

Further information can be found here on our dedicated sixth form pages.


@media (min-width: 550px) { .entry-title {font-size: 3em;}}